I think I’m Falling in Love to Auckland

“Thanks Driver!” a passenger said while getting off from the bus. It woke me up from the mind of silence. From that point of time I could assume that people in Auckland always appreciate each other. Bus driver is the one who help them to go to anywhere in Auckland. They appreciate it by saying thank you every time they get off from the bus. How friendly they are! This is the reason why I love Auckland.

It has been several weeks since I arrived in biggest city in New Zealand, Auckland. I’m working with AIESEC Local Committee (LC) Auckland at the moment, well-known as Cultural Envoy Exchange Development (CEED). I’ve been through meeting by meeting to know AIESEC Auckland very well. I’ve met a lot of AIESEC member in New Zealand especially in July Conference.

My CEED Team

Shadow (Maccau), Rachel (Mainland China), Jun (Seattle, US) and Me (Indonesia)

Attending conference in New Zealand is so worth. AIESEC New Zealand has a vision of revolution this year and I’m so sure that they can do it. How can I be so sure about that? I saw a high excitement during the conference. Each LC in New Zealand has strong passion to have a better performance in current term. The enthusiasm could be seen from their proactiveness in each session. I’ve participated in all session in conference and been in different group of people. There were 2 sessions that I like most. Firstly was the presentation skill session and secondly was OGX simulation session. Most of people asked to me about the difference between NZ conference and Indonesia conference. I’d probably say that there is no difference about the session but NZ conference has a lot of awards to delegates. Gobo, race gracey, chappie, the womble, man of the conference, woman of the conference and Honey to name those. Gobo is the most anticipated one! It goes to LC that helps OC and Facis most and participates most in each session. That’s actually a good way to encourage all delegates to be more active in session. JulyCo was held at Mototapu Camping area which is located in the quite Island and it takes 40 minutes walk from the wharf to get there. The venue is bloody beautiful but its way too cold for me. This year, AIESEC Auckland has honour to be a host of JulyCo and they did it very well. Excellent! GOOD JOB guys!

Island Where JulyCo is Located

Mototapu Island

Venue of JulyCo

JulyCo's Venue

Wif All JulyCo Delegates

Delegates of JulyCo New Zealand

I attended another AIESEC event called Changeover on the day I arrived. It was the occasion to officially start a new term of AIESEC Auckland. The awarding night was done in University Hall and the changeover party was held in one of the bar in city. I was still blank about AIESEC Auckland so I did nothing and I just enjoyed the show. One thing that I love most was the chocolate tradition. The previous EB gave a chocolate to the current EB. Each chocolate has different brand that describe the personality of each EB. It was so sweet. Another sweet thing I had was cakes from Josh Levent in the end of the show. Thanks for the cakes-giving moment. I love it! I finally went home to my host family. I was totally exhausted and a lil’ bit jetlag.

EB of previous Term

Previous EB Team of AIESEC Auckland

Cakes-Giving Moment

Cakes-Giving by Josh Levent

I stay at one of AIESECer’s house, his name is Shingo. He works in IT Company and he went exchange to Padang last year. When I just arrived and I didn’t know where I’d stay but then I found my second home in Auckland. I met Shingo’s mom and had talk while having breakfast in the morning of my second day. She’s so good, she always reminds me about my mom who is the best mom in the world. Shingo’s family is Japanese so everyday his mom always makes Japanese food. Yeah, it’s like I’m on exchange to Japan. Me and Shingo’s mom always spend time together watching TV and having conversation just like what I always do back home with my mom. At first I was confused how to call her, but then she asked me to call her Mom. I’d love to! We’re getting close day by day. We went jogging together, made origami and cooked together. She also asked me to go to neighbour with her. They are very nice to me. I’m having my new family right now.

This is house where I stay

Shingo's House

Cooking Tempura wif my hostmom

Cooking Tempura w/ HostMom

Dinner with hostfamily, Sushi Time!

Sushi Time with Host Family

Visiting Neighbour

Visiting Neighbour

Thanks AIESEC! If I wasn’t AIESECer, I wouldn’t be here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment